EcoBoost (all engine sizes) 3.5L Twin Turbo EcoBoost V6, 2.7 Twin Turbo EcoBoost V6, 2.3l/2.0L I4 EcoBoost Engines

True or not true

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2019, 04:52 PM
jimzpsd
Fleet Mechanic
Received 304 Likes on 215 Posts
True or not true

Old 05-13-2019, 06:59 PM
Beechkid
Received 210 Likes on 160 Posts
IMHO, very true...and I have been saying this for many years, not just with Ford, but any "boosted" engine that relies on technology to "keep it together"..... and considering the EB engines are running at 16psi (max)….that is double what most any aftermarket company in the past 30 years (to date) has done or recommended for daily driver type vehicle....it is absolutely amazing what the engineers have done to make this engine be as smooth and provide drivability as they have done...seemless…….but, as things get older, tech devices tend to fail and maintenance (no matter what Ford says IMHO), has to be much greater ….as turbo's beat the crap out of engine oil..... and the real difference here is that when a failure occurs, it's going to be an expensive result, unlike a N/A engine which typically is more towords the "nominal" side of the spectrum.

Old 05-17-2019, 09:36 AM
Rocketron
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So, with his mind set, we should go back to carburetors and point ignition.

Old 05-17-2019, 11:23 AM
Beechkid
Received 210 Likes on 160 Posts
Originally Posted by Rocketron
So, with his mind set, we should go back to carburetors and point ignition.