Notices
6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

6.4 fuel system replace 10K

Old 05-11-2019, 09:32 AM
Ranger1385
New User
Ranger1385 is starting off with a positive reputation.
6.4 fuel system replace 10K

First let me say I am a newbie posting a question. Second, I have been reading these tech forums for many years and always get valuable insight when ever my 6.4 is giving me problems (never had to post a question). But this one has me asking LOTS OF QUESTIONS. So here it is.

Single owner ford f250 daily driver. 126000 miles. Egr/dpf deleted and tuned for economy. Runs great and had all the usual problems you always read about. I do most work on it, fluids/brakes/electrical (simple stuff).

The truck started burning black smoke at take off and threw a code related to the turbo. Took the truck to the shop and told to repair and replace the leaking radiator (very small leak). Told them since I do ALL maintenance on truck I would like a mechanic to replace all the fluids and filters (just in case I missed something and it was about that time).

Get the call from mechanic saying turbo problem was fixed (a sensor). But that I had metal in my fuel filters and need to replace entire fuel system to the tune of $9500.00. Mind you, the truck is getting 25mpg and running great after turbo repaired. He shows me filter and indeed there is what looks like aluminum dust in bowl. I ask him to only replace fuel pump if he believes that is issue. He wouldn't do it. Said whole system needs replaced. I said I couldn't justify spending 9k on a truck that is 11 years old and running fine.