Sponsored by: DP Tuner

2001 Excursion won't start!

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2019, 03:11 PM
sdbuggyboys
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 2001 Excursion won't start!

Hello all! New to this forum, so I'll try to make this short and sweet. I've got an 01 Excursion with the 7.3 that will not start after a rebuild. I've been a diesel mechanic for the past 10 years or so and I'm comfortable diving in to anything. We just finished a full rebuild on the 7.3. All new sensors, HPOP, wiring harness, PCM, IDM, the works. I've got a WTS light, all the fuses are good, I have 185 rpm cranking, ICP shows 2100psi, IPR cranks from %15 to %55. Good batteries, fuel to the bowl, brand new injectors. It will run off of WD-40, and smell a bit of something while cranking, but no fire to it. I've got no codes from the snap on, what else could it be?? Thanks in advance!

Old 03-28-2019, 10:19 PM
dmd
Tuned
A bunch of air? Did you try to fill the rails with oil? How much have you cranked it?

Old 03-28-2019, 10:53 PM
kbeefy
Cargo Master
Received 289 Likes on 218 Posts
ICP pressure should confirm rail pressure, right?
HPOP priming takes alot of cranking.

without looking it up 185 rpm seems really low to me. You've got it running on WD and it didn't catch so that shouldn't be an issue.

There are plenty of no start threads and tutorials on here....

Old 03-29-2019, 08:45 AM
sdbuggyboys
New User