Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Another Water Pump Thread;

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2018, 09:28 AM
Supercab
Lead Driver

Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts
Another Water Pump Thread;

Getting ready to tear into another water pump replacement.
My original lasted to around 100k, I replaced it with an Airtex pump as well as flushed the entire cooling system and added the Dieselsite coolant filter kit and 203* Tstat.
I ended up with a leak at the top of the pump where it contacts the front cover-about an inch on the right side.
This was a couple of years later, so I replaced the pump again while making sure the contact area was absolutely hospital clean.
I'm not even sure what brand of pump I used the second time. Got the leak in the same place.
I have been running it like this for about 5 years I'm ashamed to say.
I had a shop look at possibly installing my Driven Diesel filter kit last week and also asked them is they could do the water pump as well explaining the leak.
They immediately said (without even looking at it) that the front cover was warped and needed to be replaced.
They said they would have to remove the CAB from the chassis to do this job and labor alone was $1800 give or take.....
I cannot understand why they said they needed to remove the cab and not pull the engine like most say....
This "warpage" is so slight if in fact that's what it is that often if I don't run the truck for a month or so it seals itself....
I'm running the Peak Global Final Charge coolant and have been since the first replacement water pump-I wonder if THAT is playing any role in my leak that was not present before?
I'm thinking of getting another pump-not because the pump itself is leaking but since I've got to remove the present pump to try & fix my leak.
I'm torn between the OEM pump that Clay sells or an actual Motorcraft pump-any suggestions?