1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Choke

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2018, 05:22 PM
taco7
New User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Choke

I have searched regarding this and found the link below to the excellent info regarding the "hot air stove" on our carbuerators. I just found that my metal tube that is supposed to connect to the exhaust cross over is not connected. It looks like it has snapped off or is corroded. This explains the truck being a bugger to start when it's cold. When warmed up, I have a slight lag at about 1/4 throttle. Otherwise it runs great, with my limited experience with it.

I have two questions:
1. If I buy the HELP kit, is the connection to the exhaust crossover easy to accomplish? I'm guessing I will have to unbolt the exhaust?
2. Do the experts have any additional suggestions regarding my carb? I see that I may be missing some vacuum lines but I am a rookie with mechanical stuff.

I have attached pics for reference. Thank you.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/8...-answered.html

Attached Images       
Old 02-10-2018, 05:55 PM
JEFFFAFA
Hotshot
Received 169 Likes on 149 Posts
Originally Posted by taco7

1. I have never done one of those HELP kits. But I believe they come with an adaptor to push in the hole in the exhaust manifold. You might have to drill out the old piece that's in there now.
2. I don't see any missing vacuum lines. But I do see one of the heater hoses is supposed to be in that saddle right next to the choke cap. Looks like your heater core is by-passed.

Old 02-10-2018, 06:06 PM
Thipdar
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts