1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

1997 E350 V10 to 7.3L Conversion?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2018, 10:24 PM
lannondiesel
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 E350 V10 to 7.3L Conversion?

I have a 1997 E350 V10 Sportsmobile Camper, clean body, rust free which is rare here in the rust belt. The V10 with 200k on it threw a spark plug out and I don't want to repair it. I'm planning an Alaska trip in 2019 and don't want this tired engine. A 1999 E350 4x2 with a 7.3L Powerstroke popped up on craigslist with 115k miles on it dirt cheap so i bought it. I meant to research these type of conversions before purchasing the diesel van but I didn't have time to.

I am a very experienced mechanic having done many other gas to diesel conversions in non-Ford vehicles. Many other motor replacements as well. I assume this won't be fun, having to change wiring harnesses, etc. But I also assume it can be done since its similar era E350 to similar era E350 vans. I realize I will likely have to change transmissions as well and I am not worried about that. Likely fuel tank swap too.

Has anyone done this conversion? I imagine this is not easy but definitely possible. I'm in no hurry so I plan on working on this over the next 12 month. Is there any reason I shouldn't? I have a well equipped shop and tools.

Attached Images  
Old 02-04-2018, 06:06 AM
Im50fast
Cargo Master
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
I strongly suspect you’d be the first person to do this conversion. IF you do. But I bet you don’t.

The fact that you’ve done gas-diesel conversions in the past; that’s a huge leg up compared to the other noobs that come to FTE every 6 months with a similar idea.
But I still bet you won’t do it. No disrespect intended. It’s just that you have to change everything.
Fuel tank and lines and filler
all computer stuff and wiring
Probably transmission
front springs and maybe more suspension
cooling system probably