6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Any Torqshift techs on here!!??

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2018, 03:38 PM
WildWop
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any Torqshift techs on here!!??

so I bought my truck used with 144xxx, now I have almost 200k on the clock. (05 F250 ccsb 4x4) it HAD 35s and now 33s, I have no knowledge of a tranny service ever being done, would it be wise to change the filters out and drain and fill fluid?? I know nothing about this transmission other than it’s electronic. In my chevys I’ve always been told that it’s a no no beings it drains the friction material out that’s in the fluid. I’m getting ready to go from Cali to Texas and back and I would like to do as much PM as I can.

Thank you all all in advance

P.S. there is no issues other than was seems like delayed shifts, no slipping. More or less feels like a excessive defueling before a shift, only in stock being that I run a SCT tuner.
And yes I know these trucks shift that way normally but it seems like a bit more.

Old 01-21-2018, 03:51 PM
69cj
Hotshot
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I personally would drain the pan and replace the external filter. The internal filter needs changing at rebuild time only. Draining the pan wil take 8 qts. And the ext. filter change wil add another 8 oz. If the fluid is badly discolored I’d drive it 50 miles and then do another change. JMHO.

Old 01-21-2018, 03:55 PM
WildWop
Junior User
Originally Posted by 69cj
I personally would drain the pan and replace the external filter. The internal filter needs changing at rebuild time only. Draining the pan wil take 8 qts. And the ext. filter change wil add another 8 oz. If the fluid is badly discolored I’d drive it 50 miles and then do another change. JMHO.