1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Injector oil stuck open- causes and fixes?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2017, 10:28 AM
ExPACamper
Post Fiend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
Injector oil stuck open- causes and fixes?

I have a stuck injector: https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...l#post17629276

I just had the set remanned and upgraded at Rosewood Diesel and #7 came back with the same problem

Since I am not an injector expert, I'll give the info I have and see if you guys have any ideas.

I had my splitshots converted and upgraded to singleshot 160/80's with Premium Rebuild. Here is what parts that includes, in addition to the conversion stuff.

The Premium Rebuilt come with a 1 year warranty and consist of NEW Tungsten coated Plunger & Barrel assemblies as well as NEW Nozzles. These can be built from your set or from one of our core sets. Core deposit applies.

In that link above, there is a video in which you can clearly see #7 injector is free flowing air through the oil channel and out through its spout. Engine off, batteries disconnected, so no UVCH/electrical possibilities.

What other parts could be bad? Solenoid? Something else? I was under the impression that basically everything except the body and solenoid was being replaced, but not being an expert on it...

A new solenoid is about $50. Are there other parts in there that could be sticking?

Thanks!

Old 12-03-2017, 06:12 PM
Dan V
Lead Driver
Received 587 Likes on 381 Posts
Maybe a rolled internal oring?

me? Not interested the cause...just interested in getting it fixed.

Old 12-03-2017, 07:11 PM
ExPACamper
Post Fiend
Originally Posted by Dan V
Maybe a rolled internal oring?

me? Not interested the cause...just interested in getting it fixed.
I'm wondering if there would be any educational benefit to running a buzz test with the valve covers off, to see if I can notice anything?

Other than sound, what would I watch for?