Sponsored by: DP Tuner

question on transmission vendors mentioned on FTE

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2017, 09:52 PM
carl2591
Fleet Mechanic
Received 69 Likes on 59 Posts
question on transmission vendors mentioned on FTE

I would like to throw something out there on the replacement transmission vendors..

We all know of John Woods in Calif and Brian Truck Shop in Arkansas which is still some 15+ hrs from me in NC..

I see ads for dieselsite in Ocala Florida, now this is like 8 hrs and Florida is a place we tend go for vacations.

I know they have a HD rebuilt r4100 trans that is good as, or better than, JW and BTS but don't see them mentioned as often as the JW BTS products when the question comes up about transmissions replacements..

SO, Seeing how they are closer to me, what is the verdict on their build of the r4100 for towing etc. when compared to the "bench mark" guys JW BTS.

Old 09-16-2017, 11:09 PM
JT250
Cargo Master
Received 30 Likes on 23 Posts
I have no knowledge on the subject but after my 8 years + on this site I have never heard of anything "as good or better" than a BTS or John Woods tranny.

I will get a BTS some day as long as he is still in business.

Old 09-17-2017, 08:07 AM
HD Rider
Cargo Master
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Dieselsite has a pretty good reputation with all his other products.
Based on that, I wouldn't be afraid to run one of his trannies; or should I say transmissions?

Old 09-17-2017, 05:53 PM
Mark Kovalsky
Fleet Owner

Received 1,576 Likes on 1,054 Posts
I've never used a Dieselsite transmission, or a BTS or John Woods trans, either. I've spoken with Bob Riley, who owns Dieselsite. I'm convinced he knows what he is doing with the 4R100. I believe they are built right and tested, too.

Old 09-18-2017, 08:17 AM
carl2591
Fleet Mechanic