Oil & Lubrication  

CHANGED OIL, ENGINE "KNOCKING" NOW

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2017, 05:10 PM
C-17chief
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CHANGED OIL, ENGINE "KNOCKING" NOW

Ok y'all, I changed my oil (I have changed the oil in my vehicles for years) I started the truck and instantly it sounded a little.....off. Well the sound is not going away. If anything it's getting worse. It's literally like knocking. I am an aviation mechanic and like 15 other mechanics have looked at it and can't figure it out. Help!

Old 07-07-2017, 06:42 PM
KULTULZ
Cargo Master
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Have you checked oil pressure with quality mechanical gauge?

Brand oil filter?

Old 07-07-2017, 09:28 PM
onug
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
What engine? What oil? What filter? New brand of oil and/or filter? Or same as previous fills?

If you're using the same oil and filter as before, I'd start with changing the filter. Maybe it's jacked up...

Old 07-08-2017, 08:53 AM
pawpaw
Received 74 Likes on 72 Posts
Welcome to FTE.

Is this vehicle the 2017 Expedition in your profile?, if so, as has been suggested, it might be helpful to know which engine it has & the oil, viscosity & filter brand used.
BTW, how in the world did you put over 250,000 miles on a 2017 Expedition in this short a time?

Some engines are sensitive to the sequence we use to change the oil & filter. EDIT: Some of the newer design engines with variable valve timing are sensitive to oil viscosity & some oil filters are known to cause start up noise, so the specified oil viscosity, service grade & if it says in writing that the oil is licensed to meet, or exceed Fords specifications & filters that say they meets Fords flow rates & filtering ability, are important considerations, if we choose to step out side what's specified for our engine.

Long story, so be patient: