3rd Generation E350 Stereo Install

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2017, 03:31 PM
FrankGRUN
Mountain Pass
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
3rd Generation E350 Stereo Install

I decided to upgrade my stereo to include Bluetooth hands-free access, along with Sirius satellite radio, better speakers and a subwoofer. The project vehicle is my 1982 E350 based Born Free Motorhome. I first searched Crutchfield and found that any DIN sized radio would not fit! Looking further on their site I found a note saying cutting modification of the dash bezel was required. I decided on a JVC KD-R985BTS receiver, Pioneer TS-D1602R 6.5" speakers for the front, a Sirius SXV300V1 satellite tuner and a BOSS 10" powered subwoofer for under the passenger seat. I studied the available mounting kits and found that Metra kit placed the radio face about 1/8" behind the plane of the dash bezel surface. The Scosche FCJ1270AB kit brought the installed radio face out an additional 3/8" for a much better look (IMHO). I used a Dremel tool to remove 0.100 inches of material from the top, bottom and right side of the stock radio opening in the dash bezel as you look at it facing head on. I had to take 0.155" of material off the left side of the opening. The Scosche mount places the radio in a fixed position in the left to right plane but allows movement of about 3/8" up and down. After cutting the dash bezel I fitted the DIN plastic trim cover into the finished opening, then adjusted up/down location by test fitting the bezel mounted in its normal position.