1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Carpet Installation Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2017, 10:32 PM
BTclassics
Senior User
Received 27 Likes on 22 Posts
Carpet Installation Questions

With any luck I will be adding carpet in the next week to my 1954 F100 full custom project. My floors aren't stock so I bought material and will be cutting my own. Have some questions on fitting and installing. This is my first time attempting an interior so please share your tips and techniques.

Sound Deadener
I installed a butyl sound deadener to the floor and taped all the joints. Should I also add a padding before the carpet? If so, any recommendations on something that won't break the bank? If it won't make much of a difference, I won't bother. Also, should I put something down in the cab corners?

Attaching the Carpet
Once I get the carpet fitted, what type of product is recommended to attach the carpet? contact cement; spray adhesive; carpet tape; velcro, etc. (I also plan on making a panel for behind the seat and covering it in the same carpet.)

Door Opening
When I trim at the door opening, any ideas on what to do for a finished look? Just glue the seam; carpet binding; make door sills?

I'm sure more issues will come up as I start. I'm just trying to assemble some of the products I may need upfront. I haven't planned what to do for a headliner yet. (The top has been chopped about 5 inches so not sure if an ABS one will work.)
Thanks for any assistance!

Old 04-18-2017, 04:56 AM
pbsdaddy
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 970 Likes on 864 Posts
With most of today's auto carpet, a additional backing isn't necessary. Unless you are going for some sort of, "padded", look or feel I wouldn't bother.