Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another e40d 7.3l question/help please

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2017, 11:12 PM
ford superman
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another e40d 7.3l question/help please

Hello everyone new to this site. Please. Be patient as I'm new to fords in general I have literally searched google for days trying to match my problem. A lot of posts are very close or give me good advice where to look etc but I'm stumped. My tranny guy refuses to actually maybe think there is another problem besides oh give me a 1000 dollars will rebuild it. So here is the story and issues. I. Bught a 1989 f superduty with a 7.3l diesel motor automatic with a e40d tranny. Has a push. Button overdrive on dash. Previous owner claims was rebuilt. Of course no receipt. Drove 100 miles home not one problem. Took out to store again and again drove no problem. Next day I hooked up a back up camera. And cleaned up some wires the guy had on floor for lights etc . Started it up and checked fluid noticed was a quart or so low. Filled up with mercon like dipstick calls for and took off down the street. I have drive and won't shift from first gear noticed if I shift to second manually all is well. I also have reverse. I. Noticed my tach and speedo are both working fine and the od light is not flashing like other posts stated. So I get home crack pan and do not notice anything more then typical fine dust on magnet. And solenoids and valve body look brand compared to other areas etc. new pan gasket and new fluid same problem. So after researching I tested my fipl sensor and it checked out with in specs. Also tried to see if getting any codes. I do have the eec connector but the little one wire test port is missing. So no codes. Now. Checked all fuses all are fine. tested the eec relay and does not seem to send power or click