6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

MPG Problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2016, 06:49 AM
Babygirlsasa
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MPG Problem

I have a 2015 F-350. I bought it used with 15000 miles on it. I was getting 17 to 19 mpg. I hauled a large load with it 800 miles & was getting 12 to 14 mpg...understood. Now I have been driving it for almost 2000 miles since I had the large load and can't get over 14 mpg. I drive 15 miles to work everyday that is all highway. Does anyone know what could be wrong? It is under warranty and I took it in & they changed the fuel filter which only gave it another half mpg. They don't know what's wrong....Really frustrated.

Old 10-25-2016, 10:06 AM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,417 Likes on 1,012 Posts
reset the mileage indicator?

Try to hand calculate it going forward.

Old 10-25-2016, 10:45 AM
69cj
Hotshot
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Diesels don't get good mileage till totally warmed up. 15 miles even on the highway is just about getting it to the heat saturation point. Remember, they have no spark plugs and rely on heat and compression for combustion and economy.

Old 10-25-2016, 12:48 PM
my_crib_too
Cargo Master
Received 1,183 Likes on 364 Posts
Welcome to FTE. I don't know where you are located by outside temperature has an impact, as does winter blend fuel. All depends on where you live. Doesn't sound like anything is wrong, to me.

Bruce...

Old 10-26-2016, 09:34 AM
Babygirlsasa
New User
Thanks for your responses...

I have been hand calculating it before, during and after I had that load on it. The temperature was the same during that time frame and only in the last week has the outside temperature go down below 60 degrees. When I was getting 17-19 mpg back in August, I was still driving only 15 miles to & from work.