1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Repaired my Radiator Support

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2016, 09:50 PM
ihcc104
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Repaired my Radiator Support

I spent the last few nights repairing the rot on the bottom of my radiator support. I am quite happy with how it came out. To those of you who have welded all your life I am sure it is clear that a novice did it, but not bad for buying a welder and watching a couple videos online and giving it a go. Felt good to try something new, and save money while doing it.

Old 06-15-2016, 10:15 PM
RORZA
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RATE YOUR WELDS WITH SOME OF THE HIT AND MISS FACTORY ROBOT WELDS. AT LEAST WE CAN IMPROVE.

Old 06-16-2016, 12:00 AM
Inline66
Tuned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I'm no pro welder, but it looks like great work to me! I'm about to tackle some floor board patches. I hope they turn out as good as this.

Old 06-16-2016, 07:41 AM
ihcc104
Elder User
Originally Posted by Inline66
I'm no pro welder, but it looks like great work to me! I'm about to tackle some floor board patches. I hope they turn out as good as this.
Thanks, good luck on your floorboard replacement.

Old 06-19-2016, 10:12 AM
mikec53
Freshman User
Looks great. I just started doing this to mine too. Nice work

Old 06-20-2016, 12:37 PM
ID Scrounger
Mountain Pass
I love this post because it's cheaper to buy a decent welder and dive into the project than it is to spend the $500 on a new radiator support. Then, at the end of the project you have the experience to tackle other welding related tasks and the equipment to do so.

The biggest hurdle is always working up the nerve to cut something apart and weld it back together. I found that it was much easier than I thought it would be. I learned via YouTube and asking questions to the high school kid down the street that's taken a bunch of welding classes.