Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need a truck recommendation for off-roading

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2016, 08:03 PM
superdave1
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need a truck recommendation for off-roading

Hi,

I just moved to Oregon and now I really want a truck for off-roading. But, I am not a great mechanic. I am totally willing to learn but I want to start with a truck that I can handle.

Would an older F-150 be appropriate? I really like the metal body and extended cab on the older F-150s.

Newer Tacomas seem to be the most popular out here. But I just want to have fun and don't need to spend a lot. Dakotas seem like the best value as far as used go.

Thanks,
SuperDave1

Old 05-23-2016, 08:29 PM
Mudsport96
Cargo Master
Received 378 Likes on 289 Posts
What kind of offroading? Trails, rock crawling, mud holes, a combination of all? An 87-95 f150 short bed will get in and out of trails better than a four door longbed. But, climbing a hill the longer wheelbase can be an advantage.

Old 05-23-2016, 08:50 PM
DeereFord300
Elder User
A Supercab short bed F150 would be a fairly good off roader no matter what, around the same wheelbase as a long bed regular cab truck but with the cab type you want. An auto is generally recommended for off roading unless youre good with a manual, feel free to correct me if Im wrong but you sound fairly new to off roading. In my opinion, for a truck that will see exclusively off road use, look for a truck with a C6 auto, as well as fuel injection. This will limit you to 1988 and 1989 trucks, but if you are fine with an electronically controlled transmission (IDed by an "OD ON/OFF" button on the shifter) then that will open your search to include 1990-1996 trucks. Hope this helps, and good luck with your endeavors!

Old 05-23-2016, 09:09 PM
Nothing Special
Logistics Pro