1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

'96 F250, Charging question

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2016, 06:49 AM
ultraclyde
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'96 F250, Charging question

Hi all - I'm new to diesels but just picked up a '96 F250 XLT Supercab, 2wd to use as a tow mule for a large boat. We plan on buying the boat late in 2016, so I've been watching craigslist for a good deal on a tow vehicle. I got a good deal on the truck, it's only got 230k on it and the driveline has been well maintained and never modified. Cosmetically it's rough but livable, and it needs a lot of minor peripheral work. I'm fixing all the mechanicals and functional issues, but I'm not too worried about cosmetics, at least not yet.

Anyway, on to my charging question. When I first crank the truck the voltmeter reads low. Once I get the RPMs up, like driving to the end of the street, it's steady just above the halfway mark, right where I would expect it. After that it stays right where it should even when sitting at idle for a while.

The serp belt was making a lot of racket when I bought the truck so I slapped a new one on - thought it was slipping until warmed up. No change in voltage but it is much quieter.

Both batteries look very new, group 65 Interstates. No problems cranking - it fires right off. Cables are clean and in good shape.

I suspect either the regulator (on the alternator) or the alternator itself are going bad, unless you guys tell me this normal for these engines. I've wrenched on stuff for 30 years, and it certainly doesn't seem normal to me but this is my first oil burner.

I don't mind replacing the alternator given the prices at Rock Auto, but I'd hate to do it if this is a "feature" and not a "bug."

Also, how do you tell if you've got the 65amp or the 130? With power windows and such, I'm guessing the larger but ...? If it is the 65, is the 130 a bolt in swap?

Thanks guys. Stay tuned for more dumb newbie questions.

Dave

Old 01-04-2016, 08:36 AM