Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2015, 04:20 AM
frankpost
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
47 goes Dutch

Hi all

I just registered.
Have been busy restoring a 69 mustang fastback over the past few years, and recently got myself a 47 pickup (since the Mustang is as good as 'finished' and it's simply itching to start a new project already).

Actually I don't know much about the pickup so far. Apart from being imported to the Netherlands about 3 yrs ago. I still have to check its serial number to hopefully find out a bit more of its background. It was destined to turn into a flowerpot/garden 'ornament', which I couldn't bear and thus decided to save it :P

Will be using a F350 7.3 diesel as donor. Plans are to make it safe to ride, yet keep its current appearance (get the biggest dents and holes out though). It will get a clear coating eventually, to protect it from the harsh Dutch and crappy weather.

It's going to be quite the challenge, I'm not a mechanic by far, and since it's quite different from restoring a Mustang, having loads of (aftermarket) 'fitting' parts available. It'll be fun to work on though (and a proper amount of cursing once in a while I'm sure :P)

I hope to find some knowledge here, and share the project. Was trying to find other projects which also use a F350 to fit, yet didn't have much luck so far. If anybody knows some around please let me know, will be much appreciated, thanks!

some pics:

cheers,
Frank

Old 10-14-2015, 09:59 AM
GB SISSON
Lead Driver
Received 90 Likes on 47 Posts
Two very nice trucks to blend together. Maybe not the easiest two, but within the realm of possible. Hope while not a mechanic, you are at least a good welder and fabricator. Best of luck. Build it and we will watch! Oh, and welcome to FTE

Old 10-14-2015, 08:44 PM
tacomacream
Fleet Mechanic
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts
You are off to a good start.

Your Dutch Ford will have a better pickup bed and rear fenders than this one has though.

Old 10-16-2015, 07:09 AM