Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

fuel pump losing prime

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2015, 01:38 PM
BRay09
Cargo Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
fuel pump losing prime

I have a 94 f350 with dual tanks. Neither of the fuel guages work. I have a mr gasket low pressure elecrtic diesel pump on it. Im having an issue with the truck losing prime. First it started off as after driving, it would not restart until i let the pump run and depess the schrader until fuel came out, then it would start. Now its starting to do it while im driving. Itll shut off and ill pull over with the pump on and depress the schrader until i get fuel and off i go. Im new to the idi fuel system. What all is involved and what do you all think is my issue here?

Old 09-20-2015, 03:18 PM
jdemaris
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where is the electric pump mounted? Sounds like the electric pump is sucking air. If the leak was after the electric pump - it ought to show up as a fuel leak somewhere. The Fuel injection pump has its own rotary-vane fuel-delivery pump inside the housing. If it is trying to suck more fuel then is being delivered by your electric fuel pump - it will make the injection pump get air-bound. I assume you realize that most cheap electric pumps are designed to push fuel, not suck fuel. There are a few exceptions though - like the reciprocating Walbro FRB pumps. In theory . . the Stanadyne injection pump can work with no fuel pump at all since it has its own. But then you'd have no way to bleed the filters unless some sort of extra hand-pump was added. That's how a few odd-ball diesels left the factory like Isuzus, Chevy Chevette diesels, etc.

Old 09-20-2015, 03:37 PM
BRay09
Cargo Master
Its mounted on the fender on the passenger side.

Old 09-20-2015, 03:46 PM
tankguy
Junior User
Electric fuel pump would be of greater benefit if mounted near the tank.

Old 09-20-2015, 09:18 PM
dropitlow88
Senior User
Originally Posted by tankguy