1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Replacing 83 Ford Econoline weatherstripping and seals

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2015, 02:37 PM
83EconolineXL
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing 83 Ford Econoline weatherstripping and seals

We have an 83 Ford E-100 XL van that needs all of the window and door rubber replaced. Every thing is old, cracked, and needs full replacement; not repair or quick fix. I need some serious hand holding as I am a newbie and am fumbling my way around auto-jargin. The problem I am having is I am having the hardest time finding the right parts. I tried to order some things off JC Whitley but every item has a vague description and no specs on length etc. or even which door or window they are meant for. The thing I absolutely could not find was the seals / rubber for the driver and passenger side rear windows. These are my #1 concern as you can see daylight through the current seals but I have no idea what product I need. Please help a newbie out...

Old 05-31-2015, 03:25 PM
econolinemanor
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You need to go to automotivefairchild.com they have plenty for an 83-E, just search by model..............

Old 05-31-2015, 05:50 PM
vettex2
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by econolinemanor
You need to go to automotivefairchild.com they have plenty for an 83-E, just search by model..............
Nice site. I don't see prices or a way to buy online.

LMC has decent stuff too.

Truck Parts and Truck Accessories

Old 05-31-2015, 06:17 PM
econolinemanor
Senior User
Just noticed that....LOL, RockAuto carries Fairchild W/S. And you can search the Web with just the part numbers on eBay, etc......

Old 05-31-2015, 06:42 PM
annaleigh
Logistics Pro
Received 167 Likes on 154 Posts
Please double check and make sure these fit your van.
My doors are in the same shape as yours and I am looking for new weatherstripping.