1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Rebuilding a 460 and need advice.

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2015, 03:26 AM
H311RA151N
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rebuilding a 460 and need advice.

I'm wanting to build another 460 for my truck on the side. I have never built a V8 before and figured I'd build one when I had a vehicle to use one in. And now I have one.

Truck is just an 86 F250, T19, 4x4. No lift and don't plan on one unless it was small like 3" or so.

Locally we have a mudrun in which several of my friends partake in the stock class. I will add that it's not a mud bog, it's a mud run. I think it's something I would really enjoy.

The owner of the land which the event is held on I know well and it's about as sopping wet as it can get here in south west Missouri. Yesterday I took my truck through it as a test, just like I would in the mudrun. What I noticed is I hit about 5000 RPMs and steadily held that RPM across the pit. I wasn't gagging it real hard that's just where it revved to and in a sense felt like it was natural. I was pleased with it's performance. But I know I'm going to need an engine built to withstand that occasional abuse.

I'm not after power although I know it's going to happen. I just want a 460 that can withstand 5000rpms. I have been searching the web and over on the 460.com forum quite a few say it can handle 5000rpms as is but I think most of their cars/trucks stay on the drag strip for the most part. In my quest for answers I keep seeing claims of "760hp on shot peened rods with aftermarket bolts" and it being said that SCJ and Truck rods can handle up to 7800RPM with the proper oil pump. I'm the one who is asking the questions and I'm definitely not disagreeing or arguing with the information that's out there, but that doesn't sound right to me.

I really don't know the weak spot(s) on 460's. I guess that should be where I start.