Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Problem with 7.3

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2015, 08:34 PM
Codycamp
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Problem with 7.3

I am new to owning a diesel so I need some help. I have a 2000 7.3 with 180,000 miles on it. When I start it it blows white smoke until it's warms up. I had new glow plugs, glow plug relay, and swamps injectors put in it but it still blows white smoke that smells like diesel. Does any one have any idea of what it could be it does it no matter what the temperature is but it clears up when it gets to operating temps.

Old 02-24-2015, 09:32 PM
AllaboutMPG
Logistics Pro
Received 109 Likes on 69 Posts
How long are you leaving the key on before you crank it?

Old 02-24-2015, 09:34 PM
Codycamp
New User
About 30 seconds I wait till I can't here the glow plugs anymore.

Old 02-24-2015, 09:47 PM
whitetmw
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
There was another individual here who experienced the same issues with Swamps Injectors. O don't know as he ever figured it out.

I would check the Glow Plugs and Relay again.

Pretty generic. I just got tired of retyping all the time so I made some Macros....

echo=on

** Glow Plug System Operation
Glow Plug ON time is dependent on oil temperature and altitude. The Glow Plug relay comes on between 1 and 120 sec. and does not come on at all if oil temp is above 131oF.

** Verify that B+ is being supplied on the large BK/W wire going to the Glow Plug relay.

** Install a voltmeter to the glow plug feed terminal (two brown wires or center terminal on the shunt).

** Using the SCAN GPCTM and EOT PID’s, verify glow plug "on" time.
Turn key to run position, measure voltage (On “Time) (Dependent on oil temperature and altitude) Relay on time

** Spec. Measurement 1 to 120 seconds B +

Note: Wait to Start Lamp "on" time (1-10 sec.) is independent from Glow Plug "on" time

** Glow Plug Resistance

Remove both 9 pin connectors from valve covers
Measure each Glow Plug resistance to Batt. Ground.