Compressor clutch problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2003, 08:26 PM
geneb11
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

To update this is what I did. My Mom owned the truck when I put a conversion kit on it and found out the compressor had a hairline crack. A couple of years(01/03) later I bought the truck. A few weeks ago I bought a compressor out of the junkyard and swapped them. I filled the system with a kit of 3 cans (oil,stop leak and refigerant in one can) guage read 44 when done.

The A/C worked great for about 15 minutes down the road then the clutch would stop spinning. If I would tap on the front of the clutch it would start spinning for 5 minutes. I thought maybe there was too much in the system so I let some out(just a guess newbie here). Well now it was at 25 lowside and the clutch was clicking on and off. I put the guage on it and it was going from 44 to 24 back and forth. ok from what I have read this is normal for a low charged system.

Now I got around to putting a can of 134 only in today and it's at about 32. The A/C worked fine for a while(20 minutes down the highway) then the clutch stopped spinning again. I bought a test light and there is current to the plug when the clutch stops spinning and if I tap on the front of the clutch it starts spinning. I think my system is working alright and I have a problem with the clutch.

Can this clutch be fixed? someone said something about shims. Where are they? I took out the bolt in the front and pulled out the outer round thing. All I could see is a spline and a C clip. If I take out that C clip will the clutch and pully come off and is there something I could fix in there? Autozone want's $88 bucks for a new clutch. What should I do.

Old 07-24-2003, 07:25 PM
geneb11
Junior User

I drove to the market today and the A/C was fine both way's. When I got home I took off the cycling switch and turned the screw back (counter clockwise) 1/8 of a turn. This brings the setting down to 22 from what I've read.