Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Diagnosing Neglected V10 Superduty.

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2014, 04:37 PM
skyfox10
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Diagnosing Neglected V10 Superduty.

Ok, bought this truck Thursday. I've worked and tinkered on many gen 9 ford trucks with 302's and 351's. I'm not an ace mechanic, but I can do quite a bit as long as I don't have to tear an engine or transmission apart.

Truck is a 2000 F250 V10 4x4 with 120k on the clock. (For more information check here)

The reason I bought it was because it was dirt cheap and I thought I could save this poor truck that looks like it was poorly maintained and give it some new life.

Here are the codes:

The speedometer does not work and the OD OFF light is flashing. In another forum, a member already had suggested the speed sensor on the axle being the culprit for that before I pulled the codes. Is speed sensor "A" the sensor on the axle? Also, what is most likely the culprit for the Transmission Range Sensor "A" Circuit? Most likely the sensor itself needing to be replaced?

As per the engine, I assume the cylinders on these trucks are numbered the same as my old windsor engines. 1 & 2 being the front two cylinders on the passenger side. Is this side of the engine "Bank 1?" The passenger side of the engine also has broken exhaust studs and leaks severely. That being said the exhaust is also severly rusted and only goes about half way back the truck. Just after the converter I believe.

I'm sure the truck has a bad PCV valve, and also is missing the clip that holds the air filter housing together, so I want to get these items and clean the MAF sensor to rule those two things out as affecting this. Where else should I look?

Thanks for any input, I'm new to this section of the site and everyone has been really helpful on everything so far. I hope to stick around for awhile.

Old 03-11-2014, 11:28 AM
ForKyleigh
New User