need help on understanding a paint mishap

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 05:15 PM
Gord4048
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question need help on understanding a paint mishap

Hello-I am a relative newbie to the site but read a lot of the forums and find them very helpfull.Recently I started the finish work on my 1940 ford ltruck.The truck was blasted with walnut shells except for the two doors which were in new condition-ie did not need any bodywork.The doors were sanded with 80 grit and then 240 grit and then shot with PPG 2k primer.The truck sat from Sept until Feb 17 in a heated garage with bodywork complete and all in primer.The truck was movedd to an unheated area of the garage for 3 days in Feb.When I went to get the truck to work on again the primer and all other paint on the doors had peeled and a lot had fallen off leaving the doors with shiny like new metal showing,the sandblasted areas of the truck appear to be fine.Using patience and fine sandpaper I was able to determine the paint on the doors was 1.red oxide primer2.black factory-enamel?3.grey primer-enamel? 4.Flat black enamel(paint job in the 60's.5.PPG grey urethane 2k primer.An interesting thing I noticed was that the original primer had turned a nice chocolate brown color on the metal side of the door which I suspect was caused by some sort of chemical reaction.I am guessing by not blasting the old paint off the doors I set myself up for this failure.Has anyone ran into a similar problem-the paint shop I got the primer from said the PPG urethane 2k would be ok over the old paint but I am thinking he was way wrong.Any insight would be much appreciated.Tks Gord

Old 02-23-2014, 11:30 PM
Beechkid
Received 210 Likes on 160 Posts