6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Error Codes P0407 P0488

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 05:45 PM
nmclella
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Error Codes P0407 P0488

Hey guys,

So I am totally new to 6.0 engines and trucks in general. I have done a lot of reading and I am still in the dark about what could be wrong with my engine.

I got my first OBD-II scanner today and it threw the codes p0407 and p0488. I have no idea how long they have been there. After doing quite a bit of reading I know it has to do with the EGR and has to do with the sensor and plate. However, my truck is completely stock and most of the places I have read all have had the EGR deleted, so I am confused.

Here are the exact codes:

P0407 - Powertrain
Exhaust Gas Recirculation Sensor "B" Circuit Low
P0488 - Powertrain
Exhaust Gas Recirculation Throttle Position Control Range/Performance

Online it said that there is often white smoke associated with these codes. I had white smoke last night but after asking over in the Excursion forum what the cause could be the general consensus was the cold (-13 F) was the cause of the smoke. Could the cold also cause this?

I am sorry if the answer is right infront of me, I've been known to walk into the only tree in the field.

Also, this might not be related at all, but I am due to change my oil later this week. I just recently bought the truck from my parents and realized that it has been 9500 miles since the last oil change.

Cheers,

Nate

PS - Is the truck driveable? I mean should I be driving it... I drove it today no problems but like I said I really have no idea.

Old 01-01-2014, 06:54 PM
04badford
Lead Driver
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by nmclella
Hey guys,

So I am totally new to 6.0 engines and trucks in general. I have done a lot of reading and I am still in the dark about what could be wrong with my engine.