1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Door Panel Removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2013, 08:10 AM
JWA
Fleet Owner
Received 1,390 Likes on 1,099 Posts
Door Panel Removal

The following was performed on an '03 E250, Power Window & Power Door Locks (PW & PDL). Apart from removing the window crank on standard window regulators this is common for model years 1992 through at least 2008. Later years may be the same or similar however I have no direct experience with those models.

The exact order of the first steps isn't important though---this becomes apparent as we proceed. Left door is shown but procedure is similar for the right side as well.

Everything done here can certainly be accomplished with dedicated auto upholstery tools but they don't need to be expensive. Used here is the Lisle #35400; cheap, readily available at most auto part retailers or online. Fact is a good metal kitchen spoon would work.

Onward then............for most people lowering the window is advised---less chance of breaking it during this process.

Fully assembled door, yellow outlines denote four (4) screws that need to be removed, access first requires removal of three interior trim pieces numbered in green:

First off is the upper black trim panel covering the mirror mounting bolts. Fingers alone will work here as long the top clip pops loose first. Once free at the top pull slightly outward then lift it straight up so the bottom tab clears the door panel.

Photos of the backside of the upper trim piece---maybe this gives a better idea what holds it to the door shell:

The first of four (4) screws to be removed is now visible and accessible:

Once the above screw is removed time to remove another trim piece to access another screw. In this case with PW & PDL the master control switch panel is lifted out:

The above part has a removing point, shown here: