Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bleeding a clutch

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2012, 06:47 AM
pdqtimetrialer
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bleeding a clutch

I have a 95' F150 4x4 (original owner) that I'm in the process of doing a transmission swap. The M5OD was on it's last legs, making all sorts of bad noises and frequently not shifting into gear. The replacement is a used ZF5-42 that I got from LKQ.

I want to take the clutch slave cylinder from the M5OD and put it into the ZF542. Once the tranny is mostly in position, will I need to bleed the slave cylinder, or will it retain fluid from before?

I've done lots of other work on Big Blue, but this is my first time pulling a transmission. I want to thank all those who post solutions at this site, because I never would have attempted a transmission swap without all the great information found here.

Old 12-22-2012, 08:16 AM
BigBlueOx
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
It will retain the fluid from before but it's not a bad idea to bleed all the old fluid out of the master and slave. The fluid absorbs moisture and gets dirty somehow and it's good to flush it out about every 3 years.
I do this on my brakes as well.

Old 12-22-2012, 08:55 AM
Blown349
Senior User
Yes it will require bleeding. On my two installations I found that the pedal had to be slammed to the floor aggressively to get a good bleed and firm pedal.

Old 12-22-2012, 03:23 PM
pdqtimetrialer
Senior User
I have the transmission bolted into place and resting on the cross member and connected the clutch line hydraulic. So after going through quite a bit of fluid and no more air coming out, the pedal goes to the floor and doesn't return.