Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Engine Surge

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 07:56 AM
sammie0126
Postmaster
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Engine Surge

My 2000 V10 6.8L Ex does this weird thing when I am drive but with the brake depressed, like at a stop light. It almost sounds like the engine is really annoyed that I am making it stop . It isn't loud but I feel this low level vroom, vroom sound and kind of feel it in brake pedal. I am not a mechanic or even a garage one, with the exception of being up close and personal the last couple months with my frame, drive train and suspension due to a restoring that part of my truck, I don't know much about engines other than the basic fluids, battery, fuses and belts.

This maybe normal? If not what should I check, what other trouble shooting?
Only thing that comes to mind is fuel filter maybe? If so, can someone tell me where it is and how to change it? I warned you I wasn't a mechanic...

Thanks everyone you guys are great.

Old 09-16-2012, 08:21 AM
BEARDOWN
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
For as much time as you just spent under your truck I bet you looked at that fuel filter 15 odd times...... it looks like this https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...r-r-and-r.html and is under the drivers seat in the fuel line. Also my Grand Maquis w/ the 4.6l will do the same thing you described when the IAC is going bad

Old 09-16-2012, 08:28 AM
sammie0126
Postmaster
Originally Posted by BEARDOWN
For as much time as you just spent under your truck I bet you looked at that fuel filter 15 odd times...... it looks like this https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...r-r-and-r.html and is under the drivers seat in the fuel line.

Ahhh you are exactly right and I know exactly where that is located. Anything I need to know before I open it and change the filter? Is there only one of these on the truck? Does a dirty filter make the engine rev higher than it should when stopped in drive?