Need Advice..2010 5.4 FX4 SCREW

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2012, 04:36 PM
Jayybird
Tuned
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Need Advice..2010 5.4 FX4 SCREW

Fellas,
I am about to come join the F150 club, been driving diesels. No longer have a use for one. I am looking at a used 2010 FX4 SCREW with the 5.4 with about 49K miles on it. My dad has this same truck and with about 80k miles on it, and has a been a true work horse. Brotherinlaw has a 05 with the 5.4 and has 100k, no powertrain issues. Buddy has an 08 F250 work truck with about 120k miles on it with the 5.4, has not had any issues.

Again, i am new to the gas burners. Are these pretty trouble free trucks? Anything i should be concerned with for this particular year model?

How well do these trucks do with tuners, CAI, and exhaust?

Again, i am new..

I appreciate any thoughts or opinions.

Thanks

Old 08-06-2012, 04:49 PM
Going_Going_Gone
Tuned
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Other than one reflash to smooth out upshifting and another two to address the A/C performance, I have had zero issues. I went from a 2003 diesel crew cab and this is way more maneuverable in parking lots. Other than some appearance changes, I kept mine stock except for a pair of inch and a half front leveling spacers. From what I've read here and on other forums, either a CAI or an aftermarket exhaust don't make enough improvement to justify their cost...they just make more noise. Also, my truck gets around 2-3 mpg better than my son's 2006 5.4 with CAI and BB exhaust.

Old 08-06-2012, 04:52 PM
BigDfromTN
Tuned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sold my 2006 5.4 to my son when I bought my current EcoBoost.

Bought the Edge Tuner and ran it in Tow Haul mode as a rule. I really liked the 4-up gauge display. It did increase response as well. Not sure about CAI as I did not run one. I did add a Magnaflow Muffler for better sound but did not notice any real gain from it.

Only Issue I know of has been the problems surrounding changing of spark plugs.