Notices
Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

04 Ranger, rough idle

Old 06-04-2012, 05:37 PM
Ranger Bob
Senior User
Ranger Bob is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
04 Ranger, rough idle

I'm a newbie!

I love my Ranger. I'm quite impressed with the power and durability. I'm ticked at Ford for stopping production.

I have searched my problem and could not quite narrow it down. I have also tried several remedies with no improvement. I'm hoping one of you or some of you can help narrow it down to a specific item.

2004 Ranger, 4.0 liter, 4x4, 131,000 miles, runs great above idle.

Problem: rough idle, idles at about 750 rpm's. If i raise the rpm's to 850 and up, smooth as silk.

The truck did this a few years back. Not quite as rough and it went away by itself.

Engine light came on this time with P0303 & P0316 codes.
I have replaced: plugs, wires, coil pack. I know that the #3 plug is sparking quite well. the #3 injector is getting signal to spray not sure if it is. I have 4 O2 sensors and I believe I tested them correctly (passed). The passenger side upstream or pre cat sensor has not been tested yet. Had to rent a tool and will do that in morning. I slid a piece of aluminum roof flashing between the crank position sensor and the crank pulley. Not a noticeable difference. While at idle (750 rpm's) I pulled each (#3,2,1,) (one at a time) injector wire plugs off the injectors. No noticeable difference. I pulled the vacuum line off the egg and operated it with a vacuum tool. Seems to be working fine. Sprayed carb cleaner around on vac lines. No engine surge.

Not sure what to do next! I will replace the crank sensor tomorrow because it's a cheap experiment. Unless someone tells me not to.

Please help!!!

Old 06-04-2012, 05:39 PM
Ranger Bob
Senior User
I know the 3.0 liter engines had some problems with valve seats but not aware of the 4.0 liters having this trouble.

Old 06-04-2012, 06:55 PM
MisterRanger
Senior User