2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
Old 11-25-2014, 01:29 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: 4WD Guides
Print Wikipost

Rear Differential Leak

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2012, 11:53 AM
carolinaborn82
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Differential Leak

Newbie here and I am getting a little frustrated with a leak on my rear differential. The leak is on the front of differential rearend just behind the four bolts you take off to remove the driveshaft. When you take the driveshaft out, there is a single bolt and the seal behind that is leaking. Here is my delima, I called my local ford dealership to find out what the torque rating on that bolt is so when I replace the seal I don't overtighten. He told me there is no torque rating on it because I have to tighten, measure, tighten, measure the bolt. I was lost, I didn't have a clue what he was talking about. Was he giving me a load of bull so I would bring my truck in so he could charge me $75 an hour labor or can you just simply tighten that bolt back down? I need help!

Old 02-16-2012, 12:05 PM
Rudeman
Tuned
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by carolinaborn82