Sponsored by: Moser

Remote Start

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2011, 07:59 PM
Aavoxx
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Remote Start

I'm thinking about buying a Viper SmartStart setup for my F-150, but I'm loathe to let any of the certified Viper dealers around here to touch my truck based on reputation.

So, keeping in mind that I'm not experienced working on my own vehicles, how hard are these things to install?

Old 11-13-2011, 09:30 PM
jjoyce11
Senior User
It depends on who you talk to. Some say not that hard, if you know what your doing but you gotta know what your doing because of the wires and such. I looked into last winter for my truck and was turned away because of the price. I then asked myself the same question, can I install it? I could if I really wanted to but the more I looked into it the more I didn't want to deal with the hassle of it all. I talked with some guys on here who had installed it themselves and they had some errors such as the windshield wipers got programmed or cross wired so it took them some time and fiddling around to get it all worked out. I would say if you have the patients and time to do it right then go for it. Definitely do the research of what you will need and how to do it before hand. It may just be easier to have someone else do it. There are many places out here in CO that install. Do some research. Car toys, best buy, quality auto sound, Sears...and the list goes on. Good luck! !!

Old 11-13-2011, 09:36 PM
Aavoxx
New User
Originally Posted by jjoyce11