1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Supplier Quality

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2011, 12:36 AM
wmjoe1953
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Exclamation Supplier Quality

Hey, need some input here. Been restoring this '54 F-100 from the ground up, and am getting down to the nitty gritty. Getting ready to make major parts purchases and have been comparing supplier "a" to supplier "b" on prices, and such.

Mid-Fifty> I know they're stuff is good, and prices are comparable

Dennis Carpenter> supplies most everyone, but expensive, good quality

MAC'S> Good prices, parts are good

Concours Parts> Great prices, great quality

LMC> I have no personal experience, but some great prices on some items I need

Any thoughts one way or another on any of them? I used Concours Parts, MAC'S, and Mid Fifty, and am thoroughly impressed with the quality, and like most of their prices. I did a comparison, and will save a lot by going with LMC, but have no prior experience. I will be ready to spend $2000 in the next couple days, and am down to painting the truck, and putting it back together.

Old 06-29-2011, 12:50 AM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,450 Likes on 1,397 Posts
From what I've read, a lot of guys are happy with LMC, but at least as many have been unhappy with the quality of the stuff they sell. Your mileage may vary. It seems they tend to lean toward the lowest common denominator, and sell price over quality. It's a good bet if 3 companies sell the same part for pennies difference, and one company beats them all by 30%, it's not the same part.

Personally, I would go with the people that have what I'm looking for, give me great service, and feel comfortable that I'm going to get the best parts available, without having to guess or feel I'm 'taking a chance'. If I do most of my dealings with one company and buy in bulk, I'll save in shipping the difference in parts prices, if there is any.

My 2c.