1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Need advice, cost estimates

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 12:01 PM
stanmckinney
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice, cost estimates

I will soon have a 1949 Ford F1 that once belonged to my Dad. He sold it to my uncle who is selling it to me. It has an original flathead V-8 and the original manual transmission. This will be an occasional driver. My uncle tells me that the engine smokes quite a bit. I want to get the truck mechanically reliable before I do anything else.
Can anyone give me a rough idea of the cost to rebuild the engine? I am not a mechanic so there is no way I would even entertain the idea of doing it myself. What would it cost to buy a rebuilt late-model V-8 and automatic and install that? I think I likely would prefer to keep the original engine and would love to know what a reasonable price to pay someone to rebuild it would be.
I know it is difficult to estimate these costs but even a guess or range would be helpful.

Old 05-26-2011, 12:06 PM
xcrunner2616
Junior User
i dont want to jack your post but i would love to know the same question. and i would like to know how hard would it be to put the motor back together yourself? i want to do everything to my truck. except the powder coating.

Old 05-26-2011, 01:39 PM
51PanelMan
Post Fiend
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
V8 flatheads are popular. Rebuilding one can get expensive. Main issue is finding a shop that knows what they're doing. It can be as cheap as getting the block machined if you can do the rest of the work. If you're wanting to have a shop rebuild it from start to finish, then you're probably looking at a few thousand $$ minimum.

Old 05-26-2011, 01:51 PM
tinman52
Welder User

Received 30 Likes on 19 Posts