1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Chassis/frame extension

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011, 04:06 AM
abashee
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Chassis/frame extension

Any tips in this area. I am planning on extending the frame of a 56 c600 coe to accommodate a longer bed to be used as a cool car transporter. Where should the extension be, best tips and suggestions???? Weld or bolt or box???

Old 02-05-2011, 06:10 AM
Marty Smilt
Mountain Pass
I have no first hand experience with frame extensions. I talked to a shop that specialized in extensions a couple of years ago when I was messing around with with the idea of a Peterbuilt tractor for a camper / race car tug.
I was told that the truck frames are a hardened steel that will crack if welded. The best way is using a bolting process called "Huck Bolt". As I understand the process, a section of frame is fabricated to fit inside the chanel of the original frame and an extension is grafted to the original frame so there is a doubler at the joint. The Huck bolt is installed in a drilled and reamed hole with a hydraluic puller that stretches the bolt through an undersized hole. The result is a bolted assembly that is much like a riveted structure where the bolt is in full contact with the surrounding metal making a slip proof connection without the stress risers of a welded connection. I did not stay at a Holiday inn last night so am no expert on the subject. But I think the process sounds like the best way to stretch a truck frame. I don't know that welding would not work if properly stress relieved and reenforced. The process of changing a frame on an old truck may be very different because of materials.
Marty

Old 02-05-2011, 08:35 AM
4mrdragoon
Senior User
" I did not stay at the Holiday Inn so, I'm not an Expert"
Classic comment ! LOL

Old 02-05-2011, 01:49 PM
Harrier
Lead Driver
Received 757 Likes on 369 Posts