1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

What's a 60 panel worth?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2010, 02:23 PM
nothercrash
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
What's a 60 panel worth?

Passed a 1960 Ford panel van on the way to the parts store today, and I had to stop on my way back, I've always wanted one.

I have no experience with old vans.

The body was shottttttttt, at least the bottom foot of everything, and the little step down areas inside of the front doors were baaaarely hanging on. The roof, sides, hood, and the doors minus the bottoms were all in very good shape though, really straight. The cargo area was floored with plywood, is this normal?

It seemed to have almost all of the little emblems and ***** and ornaments and all that.

It was a straight 6, don't know what size, and a 3 speed.

The frame was in very good shape. The interior was sick I thought, but would all need to be ripped out and redone. It was riveted padded black leather, with 2 matching really nice bucket seats, but it was all cracked.

It supposedly runs.

The guy had 1300$ on it, but he sells a few old cars every couple weeks, so that's just what he's asking, I figure he'd be happy with 1000$, but I'd be more in the 600$ range.

What is something like this worth?

AleX

Old 12-19-2010, 02:34 PM
bobj49f2
Hotshot
Received 2,059 Likes on 804 Posts
From your description I'd suggest staying around the $600 range. You have to remember that the panel's body is very integral to the integrity of the whole truck. When vans and panels rot off at the body the whole truck will shift from side to side. With a conventional cabbed truck this isn't as important. I don't know if there are many patch panels made for the conventional cabs of that vintage but I'd almost guarantee there aren't any made for the panels. You're going to have to make all the important patch panels and any mounting bracketry that is rotted away.