1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

rust repair and body work

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2010, 12:14 AM
Muktown
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
rust repair and body work

Well my new truck has rust above the rear wheel wells like every ford up here but it sticks out like a sore thumb being a white truck. Other than that the truck is perfect. I've never done body work before so im looking for hints and tips and pretty much how to do it.I don't want to pay the rediculous body shop prices and would rather but the tools and do it myself. I don't need the repair to look perfect just better until I have money to go down south and find a new bed. One side has about a quarter inch gap rusted through along the top of the wheel well and the other side isn't rusted through yet. Thanks guys

The following users liked this post:
Old 11-19-2010, 01:34 AM
rn360908
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
if you want you can buy bed sides for like 380 a piece form lmc trucks or you could put on a set of fender flares on your truck like the ones on my truck. What I did was cut out the rust and then sealed everything with RUST Bullet and then covered the that stuff with 3 coats of automotive paint and then installed the fender flares. The Rust Bullet coating comes with like a very good warranty with preventing rust and so far so good. The fender flares cover 5 inches of the fenders.

Old 11-19-2010, 01:38 AM
mongo12
Senior User
well, you can make a filler piece out of some sheet metal and weld it. then use some bondo to give a shot at body work and just hit it with some primer or paint and seal the bondo.

Old 11-19-2010, 02:07 AM
Muktown
Posting Guru