1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

smoked ranger 3.0 engine

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2010, 11:20 PM
COLONIALTITLE
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
smoked ranger 3.0 engine

i am new to the ranger world, i purchased an 03 ranger with a 3.0 flex fuel engine (v) about 3 weeks ago to take to florida and leave it there for a second car. it was super clean 74,000 miles, ran quiet good oil pressure.
started trip from jersey pulling a landscape type of trailer totaling about 2000lbs.
got 80 miles and bad pinging started, soon after i got a bad miss, pulled off interstate and found a small shop, it throwed a miss code for cyl #3. pulled the plug and the tip was burned off. replaced all plugs with new iridiam plugs. miss stopped, back on road, went 5 miles started pinging bad again and started missing again, made it to a shop, code showed same cylinder miss but with a code for random missfires.
pulled the plug and it was melted. changed the plugs again, would not correct problem.
tried everything and then the big one. did a compression check on 3, -0- reading.
towed it home, found low mileage engine, before replacing it, did a scope on #3, hole in piston.
what in the world would cause this and how can i stop it from happening again.
did i overload the truck by pulling the trailer ???
thanks
julius

Old 11-17-2010, 11:26 PM
g_k50
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Overloaded but only by about 1500 lbs.

Old 11-17-2010, 11:26 PM
fishbone1
Freshman User
I don't think the load did it.I would look more toward a partially clogged injector causing that cylinder to run too lean or maybe your catalytic converter is clogged.

Old 11-17-2010, 11:37 PM
COLONIALTITLE
New User
PS. the trailer was a 6x12 rolls easy, loaded with a queen size br set with box and mattress, and a small outdoor table set, probably wasn't even a total of 1500lbs.