Sponsored by: Moser

Engine re-builder

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2010, 06:40 PM
Redneckryder
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine re-builder

I trim trees for a living, which introduces me to a whole plethora of people. One homeowner i met the other day seemed very interested in what we were doing. I started talkin to him, and as his neighbor pulled his '63 corvette out of the garage, I told him i liked it. He smiled as he showed me his cobra replica sittin in the garage. we got to talkin about the engine, and he told me he owned an engine shop. The 400 in my truck has runnin issues, and the compression sucks, so I asked him what he would get to re-build it. He told me I wouldn't have more than $2100 into a total rebuild, including punching it out 30 over, decking the block and shaving the heads. I looked thru summit and jegs, and on paper, racked up about $3000 in parts alone. He told me that he don't let an engine leave his shop unless he would run it in his own vehicle. His last sentence to me made me smile......"And I bleed blue, so rest assured it's gonna be done right!"

Old 11-16-2010, 06:45 PM
ford390gashog
Fleet Owner

Received 519 Likes on 398 Posts
Well it all depends on what you want 2100 sounds like a stock rebuild and a little high. A stock rebuild with OE style parts should be about half that price and shaving the heads is not needed because then the intake will not fit right and that will have to be modified.

About 460.00 for the rebuild basics from summit

CCA-2121 43.95 Timing chain roller style
FEM-MKP624P-411 307.99 Rebuild kit with pistons
SUM-K5200 107.95 Camshaft with lifters

Old 11-16-2010, 07:35 PM
Redneckryder
Tuned
Originally Posted by ford390gashog
Well it all depends on what you want 2100 sounds like a stock rebuild and a little high. A stock rebuild with OE style parts should be about half that price
Well crap....really?