Sponsored by: DP Tuner

High voltage injector question Moved from elec forum

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2009, 09:42 AM
ChevyMike
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High voltage injector question Moved from elec forum

I am a 12 chevy technician that has recently changed employers. My new employer has an affinity for Powerstroke diesels, so I am here to learn as much as I can. If I ask dumb questions, please bear with me. Now, on with my question!
Working on a 2001 F 350 W/7.3, it will run @ idle for about 20 minutes, then dies, as if you turned off the ignition. No stumble, just dies.(Have a code reader, get a P0603 @ this point) Let it cool down for a couple hours and it restarts fine and runs fine. (For 20min.)
I am trying to diag. this with no scanner(Ford VCM will be here next week) and I find that the high voltage injector wire(@ the V.C. connector) has only 4.5-6V, even when the engine is running, the info I have says this wire should have 90V. Is this correct? Have checked all PCM powers and gnds, all check O.K. Does anyone have any suggestions? Should I just wait for a scanner?

Old 05-01-2009, 07:03 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,716 Likes on 1,387 Posts
I know this the electrical forum, but I haven't a clue on the powerstroke engine and how it works. I am going to direct you to the 1999-2003 powerstroke forum, and see what happens.

Old 05-01-2009, 07:41 PM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
Welcome to FTE. What type of scanner did you use to pull the KAM code? Give us a little more info if you would.

When it dies, what dash lights flash? If you try to restart it right away, do all the dash lights act normally (wait to start light come on and go off, etc.)? During the no start after stall, can you hear the fuel pump humming with the key on (not turned to start)?

How much do you have to let it cool down before it restarts? All the way to cold, or just a brief cool off period? Does the stall always happen at 20 min, idle or driving?