C6 rebuild kit questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2008, 12:56 PM
compressorguy
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C6 rebuild kit questions

I'm getting ready to rebuild a C6 to put in my '78 F250 4x4. I have never done an automatic before (my neighbor is a retired Ford mechanic and says he has done hundreds). I am plenty comfortable doing the rebuild, but have some questions about the rebuild kits on the market. Some are listed as being "Truck" kits and some are "High Performance" with Alto clutches and bands. I have a mildly modified 400 that makes about 350hp and 430 ft/lbs. What do you guys think is the right kit to buy? I am also considering putting a Hughes low stall "towing" converter in it. Any thoughts? Thanks

Old 07-23-2008, 09:37 PM
85e150
Super Moderator
Received 1,599 Likes on 1,304 Posts
Contact the mfg of the kits and tell them what you're doing and get their rec.

Rebuilding an automatic on the kitchen table..... imo a false economy.

Good luck.

Old 07-23-2008, 10:56 PM
icrman
More Turbo
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
I get parts like that from a transmission shop, they are very helpful. That is your best bet for good advice if you can find an honest one. And then there is your neighbor????

Old 07-24-2008, 12:08 AM
compressorguy
Senior User
Originally Posted by 85e150six4mtod
Contact the mfg of the kits and tell them what you're doing and get their rec.

Good luck.
Not exactly the kitchen table or a shade tree. My shop is top notch and includes a machine shop with two lathes, a bridgeport mill and a 6x12 surface grinder. I also have tig and mig welding capability, a glass bead cabinet, two solvent washers, etc,etc,etc.