sudden surge forward with brake on

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2004, 10:46 PM
ToolTime
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sudden surge forward with brake on

My 01 Expy suddenly surged forward a few times while stopped and my foot on the brake. Some guys from the Expy forum suggested that my IAC thing is bad...Now at the risk of sounding stupid. What is the IAC, and what is its correlation to my problem? I work on race cars for a living, not these modern day hi tech vehicles. Sorry!

Old 02-26-2004, 09:39 AM
FarmLaw
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Here's the easy version:

1. The Expy has a throttle butterfly in the intake, right? When the truck throttle is being used (i.e. truck is not at idle) the butterfly opens and closes to let more or less air in and control RPMs (along with the amoutn fo fuel injected).

2. When you're idling, the throttle butterfly is completely closed. The engine doesn't move the butterfly to regulate idle RPMs. Rather, the engine uses the IAC.

3. The IAC is a small valve, built like a needle valve (i.e a small hole with a plunger/needle that plugs the hole to stop airflow, and opens up gradually to regulate airflow through the hole), and controlled by an electronic solenoid. When idling, the PCM controls voltage to the solenoid to regulate how far the needle valve opens, and thus how much air goes into the engine. The IAC is a bypass that allows air to come through the air filter and intake, up to and around the throttle butterfly, into the intake manifold.

4. So when driving and not idling, the IAC is closed and the butterfly is open varying amounts. When idling, the butterfly is closed and the IAC is open varying amounts.