Early 2000s F250s 7.3L - good trucks?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2016, 04:33 PM
lj_ford
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Early 2000s F250s 7.3L - good trucks?

Hi,

I'll preface this by saying I'm new to trucks in general, let alone diesel engines. I have plenty of experience with high compression, high horsepower, and forced induction cars, but diesel trucks are new to me

I'm looking for a used, reliable Ford truck. 95% will be used for daily driving, city and highway commutes. In the future sometime I would like to purchase a boat (dreams), so would like it to be able to tow up to 10k lbs without being a total dog.

Had been looking at F150 4x4s, but seems they fall on their face when pulling any more than 6k lbs. There's a chance i'll never end up with a boat, but if I ever do, or if I want to rent a trailer and go camping, I'd like a truck that has the ability to tow it without having to worry about the engine or transmission.

I've heard from friends that the early 2000s 7.3L F250s are unstoppable/unkillable. I've also heard the early 2000s 6.0L diesels have injector problems and to stay away from them.

I realize there are always bad stories, about any car/truck in the world, but I really want to minimize my risk and get a good, solid, tried and true platform. I take care of vehicles I own, but trying to avoid buying a truck and having to put $5k into it over the next 1-2 years

Just looking for any advice, on the engine, as well as the trucks overall that these engines went into

Thanks in advance

Old 06-04-2016, 05:27 PM
z31freakify
Hotshot
Received 1,188 Likes on 816 Posts
For your intended use a 6.8v10 Gasser would be more suitable, if you like bigger trucks, an f150 with the ecoboost will serve you well.

Old 06-04-2016, 05:58 PM
Walleye Hunter
Hotshot
Received 888 Likes on 625 Posts