6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Thinking of coming to the "dark side" so just poking my head in the door!

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2015, 05:33 AM
Shovelheadrob
Fleet Mechanic
Received 141 Likes on 80 Posts

I've been running Ford trucks for the last 10 years or so, for the last 2 it's been a 2000 7.3 F350 super cab dually which only has around 30k miles on it & should last forever. I bought it to tow a 5th wheel which weighs around 10,000 lbs but we might go a bit larger (15,000lbs) in a couple of years time.
But, I have the chance of a 2005 F250 Harley Crew cab, 6.0 powerstroke, low mileage (35k) never been messed with for what I consider to be a good price & the full size cab would be great plus I do like the trim level (I had a Roush supercharged F150 Harley before the dually) but I have read all the stories about the 6.0 which is why I bought my 7.3.
I have read this https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...f-a-6-0-a.html & it has good information but as I am in the UK I would want to source all parts needed from one place ideally then get them sent to my shipper in Florida. I am capable of doing the work myself although I don't have a facility to remove the cab, or if I pull the pin on this one do I leave the head gaskets & studs until there is a problem & just do the coolant filter, EGR, oil cooler etc.
If I buy the truck I just want to do what's needed so that with normal regular maintenance it will be good for the next 10 years or so, then enjoy our travels.
Your thoughts please guys, do I cross the line or stick with what I've got??

Old 12-06-2015, 06:15 AM
Jmoen7
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Shovelheadrob