1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Hackster's F100 CV Swap, Coyote, 6 speed 3 link build thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2016, 06:26 AM
Coastal68
Fleet Mechanic
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts
It's been fun watching this come together and it looks like it will be a blast to drive.

Would you mind posting a pic of the seats and console from behind (shot through the back window)? I'm curious to see how much space you have between the seats and how the console looks up under the dash.

As an artist, I have an idea about your hood hinges: first, they're standing out in black because they are isolated (black inner fenders are now off-white). Second, black is a very hard color to integrate into any "picture." You're noticing this because you have sharp eyes and I can tell that by the kind of work you're doing on this build.
If I want a dark shadow in a painting I never use black but I mix a very dark brown - pure black always dominates a painting. So you might try mixing a dark brown and a black 50/50 and see how it does (this goes with the overall patina of the truck).

Instead, you could fill in between the ribs under the hood with black insulation and that would make the black hinges stand out less. Whatever you do, it will get darker under there with the hood on so they won't stick out so much.

Old 01-29-2016, 09:25 AM
Motorhead351
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Hackster1
I really hope that the weather stays dry and I can get a few road miles on it this weekend.

Sean
I hope you remember to select video on the phone and then share.

Could paint the hinges and underside of hood the same color as the fenders, and they'd disappear, pop the hood and the viewers eye would go right to the engine.

Old 01-29-2016, 09:50 AM
f100today
Posting Guru
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts