Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Transmission question - pretty basic.

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2015, 07:27 PM
Tugly
Hotshot
Received 111 Likes on 66 Posts
Transmission question - pretty basic.

I'm getting ready for a long trip in the coming months, and I want Stinky tip-top. I'm working on shakes, rattles, and rolls in another thread - which means my ears are perked up like a mouse listening for a snake slither. I heard something in the transmission that I never noticed before, and it just might be perfectly normal - I am a total transmission newb.

When we put the transmission in gear, are we supposed to hear the torque converter? It sounds like a wet hiss, a garbled scrape (it doesn't pulse), or something I find difficult to describe. It's not loud mind you, it's barely perceptible from the cab... but I caught it. I'm thinking of exploring this the next time I get a chance, but I figured it was a good question to ask here first.

Old 09-20-2015, 07:34 PM
Mark Kovalsky
Fleet Owner

Received 1,576 Likes on 1,054 Posts
I've never been able to hear the torque converter. How do you know it's the torque converter making the sound?

Old 09-20-2015, 07:56 PM
z31freakify
Hotshot
Received 1,188 Likes on 816 Posts
Maybe what stinki needs a nee heater core. I have heard those do a swashing sound before, something to consider.

Old 09-20-2015, 09:15 PM
Tugly
Hotshot
Originally Posted by Mark Kovalsky
I've never been able to hear the torque converter. How do you know it's the torque converter making the sound?
I put the truck in gear with my foot on the brake and I heard the noise. Once I discovered this, I tinkered with Park, Reverse, Neutral, and Drive. I also tinkered with the brakes without putting the truck in gear. The power steering pump is not making the noise - I hear it directly under the truck only when I put it in gear. I know too little about transmissions... is there a pump in there, or is the TC the pumping action?