1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Do I NEED a 4" exhaust? (Updated, need help!)

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2015, 08:52 PM
RandomNewGuy
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do I NEED a 4" exhaust? (Updated, need help!)

I'm working on upgrading my newly purchased and somewhat stock Excursion and need the wisdom of the forums. I've already purchased an Edge CTS monitor and will be installing my EGT sensor shortly. I have also ordered the parts to do the 6637 air intake mod and intend to install a TS Performance chip shortly. When first installed the Edge monitor, I noticed that my turbo doesn't pass 7psi when I'm getting on it (unloaded), and it takes some time before I even see just a few pounds of boost. I'm still learning about diesel but understand unloaded it just won't work enough to pull much boost; hopefully my current situation isn't the sign of a worn bearing, etc.

On the back end, 3.5" and 4" pipes are not hugely different. I'm looking at the Walker 21470 muffler to open up the exhaust and some say it is nearly the same as putting the 4" exhaust on. I'll be towing a light load at 6k lbs through the hills of PA and VA a few times a month and hope to just have a little bit better performance and economy.

Should I get the cool looking MBRP exhaust, or save the $400 and stick with the muffler? Thanks in advance for any insight and lessons learned.

-Mike

Old 07-22-2015, 09:03 PM
SRBF150
Laughing Gas
Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts