Intake Valve rockers arms rubbing on valve keeper/retainers

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2014, 08:20 PM
lannondiesel
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Intake Valve rockers arms rubbing on valve keeper/retainers

First off, I don't know much about valve trains. I am by no means a engine builder. I have extensive mechanical experience but never ventured outside of stock bolt on and take offs.

Here is the situation, picked up a CHEAP 460, supposedly rebuilt, never fired, it was cheap enough that I figured it was worth the risk.

Threw it in truck, fired it up, broke it in, sounded great. Drove it around the yard a bit and seems to have lots of power and no smoke, but shut her down and will never restart, i keep finding loose (not bent or damaged) pushrods.
Put the pushrod back in and starts and runs great, i have done this about 5 times...... I spent hours researching and broke down and bought an adjustable pushrod to determine what I thought was correct length, like one size longer than what was already in there. But the problem keeps occuring! HOWEVER, this time i noticed odd wear on the intake valve keeper/retainers! Finally a clue!

So, I assume that the rocker arms are incorrect, but then again, I dont know much, so thats why I am writting this. It appears that the rocker are is just rubbing all over the valve spring "retainer" and not just on the tip of valve like it should. Ok, thats fine and dandy, but how do i figure out what arms to replace them with? I am thinking roller rockers (again I don't really know anything about roller rockers but i have seen pictures in the catalogs). I feel like with a roller rocker the "arm" would be "above" the roller, thus up higher and less likely to come in contact with the valve keepers.