1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1950 F1 with flathead 6 stalling when driving: Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2013, 07:16 AM
Thbifeb
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1950 F1 with flathead 6 stalling when driving: Advice?

I am a total newbie to owning an old vehicle and bought a 1950 F1 with the orginal flathead 6 in June, so I am trying to learn. I am also not that knowledgeable about working on engines. So with that I will do my best to explain to my problem and ask for advice.

My truck always starts on the first attempt and I usually let it warm up for a minute or two before driving if I haven't driven in a day or two. When I push the choke back in, the idle gets really low and feels/sounds like it could die at any moment. If I let it sit, it will stay running but idles so low you expect it to die, but if I drive it, it will often stall when I come up to a stop and push in the clutch. I find that I either have to press the gas to keep it going or pull the choke back out and let the idle run much higher. I didn't have this problem a month ago.

Anyone have any thoughts as to what may be the problem and how I mite fix this issue? So if someone has any advice, I would be grateful, but know you might have to spell things out a little more since I am not very knowledgeable on working on motors. Thanks for any help anyone is willing to give me.

Thbifeb

Old 08-18-2013, 09:33 AM
FortyNiner
Logistics Pro
Received 290 Likes on 168 Posts
Welcome to the world of old trucks Thbifeb!

This could be several issues - need to start with the basics. Is there good fuel flow? If the gas line is clogged, the truck will start and idle but may not rev. If the fuel filter is old, replace it. Is the carb clogged? Varnish build up can clog jets. Is the timing off? This would cause the truck to run rough. Is there a vacuum leak? This would cause problems during acceleration.